facebook twitter pinterest instagram You Tube

Fall Fashion: Day In The Country

William Kissel

With menswear inspired by the layered, tweedy daywear of the leisure-loving country gentleman, you don’t have to be lord of the manor in order to dress the part. Sometimes sporty and occasionally showy, the latest meticulously designed suits, blazers, and sportswear retain the rich texture, eclectic pattern play, and exuberant color combinations that are right at home in the heathers of the British highlands. Yet, all these elements have been harmoniously integrated into a wardrobe that is equally well suited for the urban landscape. This invigorated sporting spirit can be expressed without being heavy-handed, thanks to lightweight cottons, corduroys, cashmeres, and airy wools—including a new featherweight Harris Tweed. By boldly blending textures and patterns—Donegal Tweeds, herringbones, checks, and variegated stripes—you can layer on the style without feeling weighed down.

A Leisurely Stroll
Ralph Lauren Purple Label cashmere herringbone jacket, $2,295, with matching pants, $895, tartan French-cuffed cotton shirt, $295, and matching necktie, $135; A. Testoni brown suede shoes, $1,170.

High Tea
On him, left: Alfred Dunhill London cashmere blazer, $1,295, cashmere cardigan, $750, cotton shirt, $215, and wool slacks, $295; Estate by Robert Talbott cashmere/silk necktie, $245, and linen pocket square, $65. On him, right: Southwick retro-plaid Harris Tweed wool jacket, $595, and Douglas wool slacks, $225; Andrea Fenzi cashmere/wool bouclé tweed sweater, $355; Tino Cosma Luxury Collection 8-ply silk tie, $150; Best of Class by Robert Talbott handmade cotton shirt, $245, and silk pocket square, $65; Martin Dingman Townsend spectator shoes, $395. Danish armchair from Quatrain. Jenni Kayne wool tweed bell-sleeve blazer, $1,050, and cropped trousers, $740; Jimmy Choo lace-up boots, $1,295; Patricia Underwood patchwork beaver felt hat, $425; Gregg Ruth rose-cut diamond pendant, $8,981; Loree Rodkin cognac diamond ring, $39,500. Louis XVI-style gueridon from Quatrain; Herend tea service from Gearys Beverly Hills. 

Full House
Oxxford Crest by Oxxford Clothes Escorial wool jacket, $3,295, custom cotton corduroy trousers, $1,000, custom cotton shirt, $375, and cashmere/silk necktie, $150; Robert Talbott silk pocket square, $65; Daniel Roth watch, $23,400. Biedermeier-style gueridon from Quatrain.

Hot Shots
On him, left: Beretta wool tweed shooting jacket with Alcantara recoil patch, $595, zip-placket cashmere/wool/viscose sweater, $195, fleece microfiber checked shirt, $195, brushed cotton flannel trousers, $195. On him, right: Luciano Barbera cashmere turtleneck, $795, wool/nylon double-faced bouclé cardigan, $495, striped Saxony wool flannel slacks, $495, wool/cashmere/camel hair herringbone travel jacket with leather trim, $1,395, and cashmere scarf, $395; Graham Foudroyante watch, $16,500. Mario Beschi gun (left), $15,500, and Charles Boswell gun (right), $9,250, from Ivory Beads.

Target Practice
On him: Alan Couture custom-made cashmere houndstooth check sport coat, $5,000, and Bedford wool cord trousers, $1,200; Kiton cashmere  turtleneck, $1,300, and reversible cashmere tweed herringbone-to-cotton/nylon overcoat, $4,000. On her: Bill Blass for Neiman Marcus silk taffeta gown with sable-trimmed sleeves, $10,740; Patricia Underwood textured beaver felt hat, $415; Christian Louboutin stilettos, $535; Martin Katz Rock Candy yellow diamond earrings, $130,000; Gregg Ruth yellow and white diamond necklace, $88,988, and bracelet, $28,015; Loree Rodkin diamond ring, $73,000.


Manor Born
Alan Flusser Custom gameskeeper wool hacking jacket, $2,400, wool doeskin vest, $995, flannel slacks, $995, cotton shirt, $365, cashmere tie, $195, and silk pocket square, $65; Fratelli Rossetti lace-up shoes, $440; Pantherella socks, $22; Alfonso Eudoro Bosa Panama straw hat, $145; Trianon 18-karat gold, jade, and carnelian cuff links, $990; Chronoswiss
Opus rose gold skeleton chronograph watch, $16,950. Venetian gilt-wood armchair from Quatrain.

Art Felt
On him: Colombo Caban cashmere jacket, $3,295; Robert Talbott Protocol wool vest, $165, and cashmere necktie, $275; GI cotton flannel shirt, $195; Incotex cotton/cashmere corduroy trousers, $595; Pantherella socks, $22; Sutor Mantellassi suede ankle boots, $785; Dubey & Schaldenbrand Astro watch, $15,950. On her: Carmen Marc Valvo gray plaid beaded evening gown, $7,800; Christian Louboutin shoes, $535; Martin Katz set of three ruby and diamond bead necklaces, $180,000; Tacori bracelet, $5,200, and earrings, $3,970. Danish armchair from Quatrain. 

 



Fashion Resources

A. Testoni, 212.223.0909, www.testoni.com

Alan Couture, 212.583.1181

Alan Flusser Custom, 212.888.4500

Alfonso Eudoro, 305.503.0398, www.alfonso-eudoro.com

Alfred Dunhill London, 800.776.4053, www.dunhill.com

Andrea Fenzi
, 212.371.4343, www.andreafenzi.com

Beretta, 212.319.3235, 214.559.9800, www.berettagallery.com

Bill Blass, by special order at Neiman Marcus,
800.944.9888, www.neimanmarcus.com

Brioni, 888.778.8775, www.brioni.it

Carmen Marc Valvo at Neiman Marcus 800.944.9888, www.neimanmarcus.com; and Bergdorf Goodman New York, 212.753.7300, www.bergdorfgoodman.com

Christian Louboutin, in Beverly Hills, 310.247.9300
 
Chronoswiss, distributed by Bellport Time Group,
631.776.1135, www.chronoswiss.com

Colombo, 212.582.0042

Daniel Roth, 866.372.6344, www.danielroth.com

Dubey & Schaldenbrand, at PK Time, 888.919.8463, www.pktime.com

Eberhard, 888.273.4838

Fratelli Rossetti, 212.888.5107, 312.337.5496, www.rossetti.it 

Gearys Beverly Hills, 800.793.6670, www.gearys.com

GI, 212.582.0042

Graham, 888.273.4838

Gregg Ruth, 800.282.3331, www.greggruth.com

Incotex, 212.582.0042

Ivory Beads, 626.915.4022, www.ivorybeads.com

Jay
Kos, 212.223.0505

Jenni Kayne, available at Curve, 310.360.8008, www.jennikayne.com

Jimmy
Choo, 866.524.6687, www.jimmychoo.com

Kiton, 212.813.0272, www.kiton.it

Loree Rodkin, 888.576.3546

Luciano Barbera, 212.315.9500

Martin Dingman, 800.955.2358, www.martindingman.com

Martin Katz, 310.276.7200, 212.759.7900, www.martinkatz.com 

Oxxford Crest by Oxxford Clothes, 888.469.9367, www.oxxfordclothes.com

Pantherella, 212.218.6520, www.pantherella.co.uk

Patricia Underwood, 212.268.3774, www.patriciaunderwood.com

Quatrain
, 310.652.0243

Ralph Lauren Purple Label, 888.475.7674, www.polo.com

Ravazzolo, through Luciano Moresco, 212.397.4300, www.ravazzolo.it

Robert Talbott, 800.747.8778, www.roberttalbott.com

Southwick, 212.541.6800

Sutor Mantellassi, 888.996.7555, www.sutormantellassi.com

Tacori, www.tacori.com

Tino Cosma, 212.541.8120, www.tinocosma.it

Trianon, 212.921.9450

Read Next Article >>
Photo by Ted Morrison
Photo by Chris Weeks