<< Back to Robb Report, March 2013

Director’s Cuts

    This season’s leading man stars in a striking period piece that features the dramatic silhouettes, bold Technicolor tones, and irresistible elegance of Hollywood’s heyday.

    Photo 1/2: Lanvin cotton shirt, $1,195, and silk tie, $365; Dior Homme wool trousers, $970; Tom Ford crocodile shoes, price upon request; Falke socks, $28; Oliver Peoples glasses (in hand), $340.

    Photo 3: Brunello Cucinelli wool suit, $3,560; Burberry silk-and-nylon shirt, $595; Tom Ford silk pocket square, $145; Jaeger-LeCoultre Reverso Grande Taille stainless-steel watch with alligator strap, $7,150.

    Photo 4: Hermès wool sweater, $1,950, and lambskin-and-calfskin gloves, $980; Cesare Attolini cotton pants, $1,200; Corneliani linen scarf, $115; Tom Ford sunglasses, $240; Jaeger-LeCoultre Master Memovox stainless-steel watch with alligator strap, $9,900.

    Photo 5/6: Corneliani cotton sweater, $425, and cotton polo, $235; Lacoste polyester shorts, $85; Jaeger-LeCoultre Master Memovox stainless-steel watch with alligator strap, $9,900.

    Photo 7: Brioni silk-and-linen suit, $6,050; Ascot Chang cotton shirt, $203; Berluti straw fedora, price upon request; Jaeger-LeCoultre Reverso Grande Taille stainless-steel watch with alligator strap, $7,150.

    Photo 8/9: Dries Van Noten silk-and-polyester jacket, $1,120; Louis Vuitton silk shirt, $925, and silk pants, $1,220; Boss by Hugo Boss goatskin shoes, $525; Jaeger-LeCoultre Reverso Squadra Chronograph in 18-karat rose gold with alligator strap, $24,700.

    Photo 10: Tom Ford wool-and-silk suit, price upon request, cotton shirt, $595, silk tie, $245, and silk pocket square, $145; Jaeger-LeCoultre Reverso Grande Taille stainless-steel watch with alligator strap, $7,150.

    Photo 11: On her: Proenza Schouler cotton shirt, $675, and cotton trousers, $875. this page, On him: Belvest cotton seersucker blazer, $2,395, and cotton pants, $395; Corneliani cotton shirt, $235, and linen scarf, $115; Boss by Hugo Boss silk pocket square, $40; Fendi leather shoes, $520.

    Photo 12: Stefano Ricci silk polo, price upon request; Gucci cotton canvas pants, $480; Jaeger-LeCoultre Reverso Squadra Chronograph in 18-karat rose gold with alligator strap, $24,700.

    Photo 13: Left: Ralph Lauren Purple Label wool dinner jacket, $4,495, cotton tuxedo shirt, $595, silk bow tie, $155, and silk pocket square, $125; Baade II onyx-and-sterling-silver shirt studs, $995. Right: Canali silk jacket, $1,995, cotton tuxedo shirt, $375, and silk bow tie, $140.

    Photo 14/15: Ermenegildo Zegna silk blazer, $3,595, silk shirt, $595, silk pants, $1,300, and silk pocket square, $95; Boss by Hugo Boss calfskin shoes, $375.

    Photo 16/17: Kiton cashmere-blend suit, $9,611, and silk pocket square, $250; Gucci cotton shirt, $495, and silk-and-linen tie, $185; Ralph Lauren suede-and-leather shoes, $1,250; Falke socks, $28; Tom Ford gold cuff links, price upon request; Jaeger-LeCoultre Reverso Grande Taille stainless-steel watch with alligator strap, $7,150.

    RESOURCES
    Ascot Chang 212.759.3333, www.ascotchang.com
    Baade II 609.340.8650, www.baadecufflinks.com
    Belvest 212.317.0460, www.belvest.com  
    Berluti 212.439.6400, www.berluti.com
    Brioni 888.778.8775, www.brioni.com
    Brunello Cucinelli 970.544.0600, www.brunellocucinelli.com
    Burberry 212.407.7100, www.burberry.com
    Canali 212.842.8700, www.canali.it
    Cesare Attolini 646.707.3006, www.cesareattolini.com
    Corneliani 800.222.9477, www.corneliani.com
    Dior Homme 212.931.2950, www.diorhomme.com
    Dolce & Gabbana 877.703.4872, www.dolcegabbana.com
    Dries Van Noten +32.3.221.9090, www.driesvannoten.be
    Ermenegildo Zegna 888.880.3462, www.zegna.com
    Falke 212.625.3105, www.sockhopny.com
    Fendi 212.759.4646, www.fendi.com
    Gucci 800.234.8224, www.gucci.com
    Hermès 800.441.4488, www.hermes.com
    Hugo Boss 800.484.6267, www.hugoboss.com
    Jaeger-LeCoultre 877.552.1833, www.jaeger-lecoultre.com
    Kiton 212.813.0272, www.kiton.it
    Lacoste 800.452.2678, www.lacoste.com
    Lanvin 646.439.0380, www.lanvin.com
    Louis Vuitton 866.884.8866, www.louisvuitton.com
    Oliver Peoples 212.585.3433, www.oliverpeoples.com
    Persol www.persol.com; available at Sunglass Hut, 800.786.4527, www.sunglasshut.com
    Proenza Schouler 212.585.3200, www.proenzaschouler.com
    Ralph Lauren 888.475.7674, www.ralphlauren.com
    Stefano Ricci 212.371.3901, www.stefanoricci.com
    Tom Ford 212.359.0300, www.tomford.com

    Models: Herman Hanekamp and Sibyl Buck, DNA Models; Brandon Palas
    Stylist’s Assistant: Brandon Palas
    Groomer: Carlos Ortiz, Cloutier Remix
    Digital Technician: Christopher Luttrell
    Captions: Christina Garofalo, Lauren Schumacher
    Locations: Copa d’Oro home, Los Angeles, realtor Barbara Duskin, Hilton & Hyland, 310.995.6255; Spago restaurant, Beverly Hills, Calif.; and Glendale Studios, Glendale, Calif.
    Car (pages 138–139): 1963 Mercedes-Benz 220SE Cabriolet, courtesy Giuliano Fiumani, 310.560.2414

    This article was originally published in the February 2013 issue of Robb Report. Click here to read more articles from this issue.

    Read Next Article >>
    Photo by Augusto Buzzeo
    The collection exemplifies his commitment to traditional Italian craftsmanship...
    Photograph by Lisa Charles Watson, styling by Charles W. Bumgardner
    Gray was the freshest color on the spring-collection runways in Paris...
    Photography by Lisa Charles Watson, styling by Charles W. Bumgardner
    The balmy, volcanic shores of Southern Italy have inspired a new men’s fragrance, Bulgari Aqua...
    Photograph by Lisa Charles Watson, styling by Charles W. Bumgardner
    The tried-and-true boat shoe is proving to be irresistible to designers...
    Photograph by Dean Isidro, Styling by Christopher Campbell
    Every wardrobe needs a spring awakening...
    The California brand brings its high-end eyewear to New York…
    The French luggage manufacturer Delsey has partnered with one of France’s most recognizable names...
    The Italian tailoring house debuts the Alton suit for spring...
    The online retailer debuts a collection inspired by an upcoming Colin Firth film…
    Ferragamo sneakers
    New footwear debuts alongside the brand’s new men’s web series