facebook twitter pinterest instagram You Tube

Setting Pretty

Samantha Brooks

Holiday Dinner by Kelly Wearstler
China: Trousdale collection, Kelly Wearstler for Pickard, $56.50 to $337.50; available at Bergdorf Goodman and select Neiman Marcus stores. Stemware: Juwel collection, Theresienthal, $135 each; available at TableArt. Flatware: Stainless steel, TableArt, $122 for a five-piece setting. Napkin ring: Brass Twine, Kelly Wearstler for Sferra, $105 for a set of two; available at Neiman Marcus. Vase: Silver-patina narrow vase, Kelly Wearstler for Bergdorf Goodman, $1,385. Linens: Sand Strie dinner napkin in charcoal (in water goblet), $112 for a set of four; and Thistle dinner napkins (under flatware) in raffia and ivory, $112 for a set of four; all by Kelly Wearstler for Sferra and available at Neiman Marcus. Textiles: Nara in dove (vertical) and ivory (horizontal), Kelly Wearstler for Groundworks at Lee Jofa, $128 per yard. Botanical sculpture: Golden Mushroom, Krislyn, $550. Menu: Creative Intelligence. Pink salt: Fossilized sea salt, Terre Exotique, $26; available at the Cheese Store of Beverly Hills.

Wine and Cheese Party by David Phoenix
China: Fiesole collection salad plates, Richard Ginori, $65 each. Stemware: Vinum Chablis, Riedel, $49.50 per pair. Decanter: Oak-branch sterling-silver-and-crystal decanter, Buccellati, $4,995. Wine cooler: English Victorian wine cooler (circa 1880), $2,500 for a pair. Bowl: Villa Palladio collection sterling-silver footed bowl, Buccellati, $5,000. Water pitcher: Villa Palladio collection sterling-silver pitcher, Buccellati, $1,900. Jam jar with spoon: Pineapple crystal jar with sterling-silver top and spoon, Buccellati, $3,600. Tray: Ostrich-embossed leather tray, Plata Lappas, $420. Wine stoppers: Petaluma collection silver-plate stopper (left), $45; and Healdsburg collection silver-plate stopper (right), $65; both by Sandra Jordan. Linens: 100% Belgian linen dinner napkin with appliqué border and three-letter embroidered monogram, Léron, $105 each. All aforementioned items available at Karin Zatt Design. Textiles: Twill in tobacco (vertical), $113.35 per yard; and Plaid in husk (horizontal), $144 per yard; both by Raoul Textiles. Invitation: Creative Intelligence. Wine: Far Niente 2007 Estate Bottled Chardonnay, $56. Cheeses (from left): Shropshire blue from England, $20 per pound; Langres from France, $20 for 6 ounces; Clochette from France, $25 for 8 ounces; and Bleu de Bocage from France, $45 per pound; all available at the Cheese Store of Beverly Hills. Chocolates: Dark-chocolate mendiants, Woodhouse Chocolate, $12 for a box of eight.

Sunday Brunch by Jerry Meyer
China: Mandarin Blue, Philippe Deshoulières, $20 to $475; available at Mayfair House. Service plate (below china): Eclipse collection in graphite, Haviland, $145; available at Mayfair House. Stemware: Mouth-blown, triple-stem champagne flute in Czech crystal, Bollen Glass, $170; available at TableArt. Flatware: Riva sterling-silver flatware, Robbe & Berking, $1,116 for a five-piece place setting; available at TableArt. Pitcher: American silver pitcher (circa 1880), $4,200; available at Paul Ferrante. Basket: English silver-plate basket with pierced handles, circa 1870, $1,250; available at Mayfair House. Tulipiere: Chinese porcelain, 19th century, $6,500; available at J.F. Chen. Pagoda: Chinese porcelain, 19th century, $650 for a set of two; available at J.F. Chen. Linens: Re Artu Jacquard in light blue and ecru, Pratesi, $190 per set (includes one placemat and one napkin). Textile: Flatiron in Seamist (horizontal), Coraggio Textiles, $330 per yard. Botanical sculpture: Widdler, Krislyn, $75. Invitation: Creative Intelligence. Champagne: Piper-Heidsieck Rare 1999, $275. Fruit: Peaches, Harry & David, $35 for 4 pounds. Breakfast pastries: Fraise danish, $2.95; and Mini croissant, $1.45; both from Amandine.

Dessert Party by Waldo Fernandez
China: Senso Blanc, Muriel Grateau, $63 to $2,453; available at Gearys. Coffee service: Central Park, Puiforcat, $5,670 to $17,250; available at Gearys. Espresso cup and saucer: Hermesso in black, Hermès, $310. Teaspoon: Cannes sterling-silver teaspoon, Puiforcat, $350; available at Gearys. Cake stand: Country cake stand, William Yeoward, $217; available at Gearys. Cake server: Handmade sterling-silver cake server, Erickson Silver Shop, $365; available at TableArt. Linens: Americano Piazzetta in white and natural, 100% Capri, $140 per set (includes one placemat and one napkin). Textiles: Easton in colors 2 and 26 on G1000 Natural Ground (vertical), $70 per yard; and Link in color 5 on G1000 Natural Ground (horizontal), $70 per yard; both by Prints Etc. and available at Harbinger. Botanical sculptures: Balsa Flower Pod (left), $65, and Dare Devil (right), $290; both by Krislyn. Invitation: Creative Intelligence. Wine: Far Niente Dolce 2005, $70; Kracher #4 Zwischen den Seen Muskat Ottonel, $70. Large cake: Ultimate Coconut Cake, Peninsula Grill, $100 plus overnight shipping via FedEx (approximately $75). Trio of small cakes: Assorted dessert pastries, Jean Philippe Patisserie, $6 to $7 each. Chocolates: Cocoa truffles, $24 for a box of 12; pistachio bonbons, $6 for two; signature chocolates, $72 for a box of 36; all from Jean Philippe Patisserie.

Cocktail Party by James Magni
China: Cielo white porcelain bisque bowls with perforated pattern, designed by Stefanie Hering, $220 to $340 each; available at Micucci. Cocktail glass: Vega clear martini glass, Baccarat, $175; available at Gearys. Tumbler: Facet tumbler, Lalique, $90. Decanters (from left): Bourgueil decanter, Lalique, $2,150; Estate decanter, Steuben, $900; available at Gearys; and Argos decanter, Lalique, $2,250. Cocktail shaker: Cocktail shaker in sterling silver 925, designed by Gianfranco Pampaloni, $1,700; available at Micucci. Spoon: Caviar spoon in horn, designed by Arca, $75; available at Micucci. Pitcher: Moretta pitcher in sterling silver 925 with gold liner, designed by Afra & Tobia Scarpa, $1,450; available at Micucci. Bowls: Triangular bowls in sterling silver 925, designed by Gianfranco Pampaloni, $115 to $1,650; available at Micucci. Textiles: Stresa Nero 3 (vertical), Fadini Borghi, price upon request; available at Kneedler-Fauchère; and Muirfield in dark-camel herringbone (vertical), Mimi London, $325 per yard. Botanical sculpture: Japanese Dream, Krislyn, $425. Invitation: Creative Intelligence. Olives: Castelvetrano green olives from Italy, $15 per pound; available at the Cheese Store of Beverly Hills. Caviar (on spoon): Fresh whitefish caviar, $20 for 4 ounces; available at the Cheese Store of Beverly Hills. Nuts: Roasted almonds, Harry & David, part of deluxe fruit-and-nut gourmet-snack gift set, $50.

RESOURCES

HOLIDAY DINNER
By Kelly Wearstler, 323.951.7454, www.kwid.com
Bergdorf Goodman, www.bergdorfgoodman.com
The Cheese Store of Beverly Hills, www.cheesestorebh.com
Creative Intelligence, www.creativeintelligence.com
Krislyn, www.krislyndesign.com
Lee Jofa, www.leejofa.com
Neiman Marcus, www.neimanmarcus.com
Pickard, www.pickardchina.com
Sferra, www.sferralinens.com
TableArt, www.tableartonline.com
Theresienthal, www.theresienthal.de

WINE AND CHEESE PARTY
By David Phoenix, 310.657.6577, www.davidphoenix.com
Buccellati
, www.buccellati.com
The Cheese Store of Beverly Hills, www.cheesestorebh.com
Creative Intelligence, www.creativeintelligence.com
Far Niente, www.farniente.com
Karin Zatt Design, 310.474.3302
Léron
, www.leron.com
Plata Lappas, www.lappas.com
Raoul Textiles, www.raoultextiles.com
Richard Ginori, www.richardginori1735.com
Riedel, www.riedelwebstore.com
Sandra Jordan, www.sandrajordan.com
Woodhouse Chocolate, www.woodhousechocolate.com

SUNDAY BRUNCH
By Jerry Meyer, Jerry Meyer Designs, 310.273.9032
Amandine
, www.amandinecafe.com
Bollen Glass, www.bollenglass.com
Coraggio Textiles, www.coraggio.com
Creative Intelligence, www.creativeintelligence.com
Harry & David, www.harryanddavid.com
Haviland, www.haviland.fr
J.F. Chen, www.jfchen.com
Krislyn, www.krislyndesign.com
Mayfair House, www.mayfairhouseinc.com
Paul Ferrante, www.paulferrante.com
Philippe Deshoulières, www.deshoulieres.com
Piper-Heidsieck, www.piper-heidsieck.com
Pratesi, www.pratesi.com
Robbe & Berking, www.robbeberking.com
TableArt, www.tableartonline.com

COCKTAIL PARTY
By James Magni, Magni Design, 310.623.1623, www.magnidesign.com
Baccarat, www.baccarat.com
The Cheese Store of Beverly Hills, www.cheesestorebh.com
Creative Intelligence, www.creativeintelligence.com
Fadini Borghi, www.boussacfadini.com
Gearys, www.gearys.com
Harry & David
, www.harryanddavid.com
Kneedler-Fauchère, 310.855.1313
Krislyn
, www.krislyndesign.com
Lalique, www.lalique.com
Micucci, www.micuccicollection.com
Mimi London, www.mimilondon.com
Steuben, www.steuben.com

DESSERT PARTY
By Waldo Fernandez, Waldo’s Designs, 310.278.1803, www.waldosdesigns.com
100% Capri, www.100x100capri.it
Creative Intelligence, www.creativeintelligence.com
Erickson Silver Shop, www.ericksonsilver.com
Far Niente, www.farniente.com
Gearys, www.gearys.com
Harbinger, www.harbingerla.com
Hermès, www.hermes.com
Jean Philippe Patisserie, www.jpchocolates.com
Kracher, www.kracher.at
Krislyn, www.krislyndesign.com
Muriel Grateau, www.murielgrateau.com
Peninsula Grill, www.peninsulagrill.com
Puiforcat, www.puiforcat.com
TableArt, www.tableartonline.com
William Yeoward, www.williamyeoward.com

Read Next Article >>
Photo by Olivier Pascaud
Copyright by Luc Castel
Photo credit Bonjwing Lee
Photo by Gina Taro