facebook twitter pinterest instagram You Tube

Style: Essential Elements

Jill Newman

Elegant and expressive, long necklaces have captured the imaginations of designers, who are creating pieces with unique combinations of precious materials and organic stones. From a slinky swag of black diamonds to a glowing strand of Australian opals to a playful pendant modeled on an ancient theory of the universe, these are modern-day
talismans to be worn forever.

Photo 1: From left: Moritz Glik diamond-and-18-karat-gold pendant filled with loose, rose-cut diamonds, $10,210 (at Fragments, 212.334.9588, www.fragments.com); Gurhan kyanite bead necklace with 24-karat gold and sterling silver, $2,995 (at Bernie Robbins, 609.927.4848, www.bernierobbins.com); Judith Ripka baroque pearl necklace with diamonds, $12,500 (212.517.8200, www.judithripka.com); Jack Kelége bead necklace in sterling silver
and 18-karat gold, price upon request (877.653.5343, www.jackkelege.com).

Photo 2: From left: Kimberly McDonald Laguna agate pendant with diamonds, $6,600 (at Forty Five Ten, 214.559.4510, www.fortyfiveten.com); K. Brunini Australian Jundah opal necklace, $22,600 (at Meridian Jewelers, 970.925.3833, www.meridianjewelers.com); Pomellato 18-karat rose gold and jet chunky link necklace, $31,900, and a carved jet pendant, $1,850, on an 18-karat rose gold chain, $5,950 (800.254.6020, www.pomellato.com).

Photo 3: From left: Yossi Harari faceted agate necklace with a “gilver” bead, $2,745, and triple-strand aquamarine necklace with rose cut blue diamond accents, $7,415 (at Bergdorf Goodman, 212.872.2518, www.bergdorfgoodman.com); Ivanka Trump Fine Jewelry black diamond tassel necklace, $39,500 (888.756.9912, www.ivankatrumpcollection.com); Colette diamond-and-moonstone pendant, $14,900 (at Fragments, 212.334.9588, www.fragments.com); David Yurman bead necklace with labradorites, quartz, diamonds, and sterling silver, price upon request (at the David Yurman Townhouse, 212.752.4255, www.davidyurman.com).

Photo 4: From left: Elizabeth Locke chrysoprase-and-19-karat-gold link necklace, $12,700 (at Neiman Marcus, 800.937.9146, www.neimanmarcus.com); Gurhan multicolor tourmaline necklace, $13,600 (at Neiman Marcus, 310.550.5900, www.neimanmarcus.com); Temple St. Clair sapphire-and-diamond pendant modeled after Ptolemy’s geocentric theory of the universe, $25,000, on an 18-karat gold chain, $3,500 (800.590.7985, www.templestclair.com); Marco Bicego 18-karat gold link necklace, $17,750 (at Saks Fifth Avenue, 212.753.4000, www.saksfifthavenue.com).

Read Next Article >>
London’s Harrods is presenting extravagant and artistic jewelry designs...
The jewelry designer Todd Reed , known for his use of diamonds in their...
Photo by Cartier
Cartier will take center stage on November 16 when the Denver Art Museum...
Photo by Michael Oldford
The Taiwanese jewelry artist Cindy Chao has partnered with the actor Sarah...
The London-based jewelry brand Annoushka has arrived in the United States...
Photo by Cyrus Antia
Bejeweled starfish, sea urchins, stingrays, and seashells, among other sea...
The jewelry designer Carole Shashona , known for creating symbolic pieces...
The new Rock Season collection from the Brazilian jeweler H. Stern blends...
The latest innovation from the Italian jeweler Mattia Cielo , known for...
The renowned British jewelry designer Theo Fennell has created a series of...