Style: Essential Elements

Elegant and expressive, long necklaces have captured the imaginations of designers, who are creating pieces with unique combinations of precious materials and organic stones. From a slinky swag of black diamonds to a glowing strand of Australian opals to a playful pendant modeled on an ancient theory of the universe, these are modern-day
talismans to be worn forever.

Photo 1: From left: Moritz Glik diamond-and-18-karat-gold pendant filled with loose, rose-cut diamonds, $10,210 (at Fragments, 212.334.9588, www.fragments.com); Gurhan kyanite bead necklace with 24-karat gold and sterling silver, $2,995 (at Bernie Robbins, 609.927.4848, www.bernierobbins.com); Judith Ripka baroque pearl necklace with diamonds, $12,500 (212.517.8200, www.judithripka.com); Jack Kelége bead necklace in sterling silver
and 18-karat gold, price upon request (877.653.5343, www.jackkelege.com).

Photo 2: From left: Kimberly McDonald Laguna agate pendant with diamonds, $6,600 (at Forty Five Ten, 214.559.4510, www.fortyfiveten.com); K. Brunini Australian Jundah opal necklace, $22,600 (at Meridian Jewelers, 970.925.3833, www.meridianjewelers.com); Pomellato 18-karat rose gold and jet chunky link necklace, $31,900, and a carved jet pendant, $1,850, on an 18-karat rose gold chain, $5,950 (800.254.6020, www.pomellato.com).

Photo 3: From left: Yossi Harari faceted agate necklace with a “gilver” bead, $2,745, and triple-strand aquamarine necklace with rose cut blue diamond accents, $7,415 (at Bergdorf Goodman, 212.872.2518, www.bergdorfgoodman.com); Ivanka Trump Fine Jewelry black diamond tassel necklace, $39,500 (888.756.9912, www.ivankatrumpcollection.com); Colette diamond-and-moonstone pendant, $14,900 (at Fragments, 212.334.9588, www.fragments.com); David Yurman bead necklace with labradorites, quartz, diamonds, and sterling silver, price upon request (at the David Yurman Townhouse, 212.752.4255, www.davidyurman.com).

Photo 4: From left: Elizabeth Locke chrysoprase-and-19-karat-gold link necklace, $12,700 (at Neiman Marcus, 800.937.9146, www.neimanmarcus.com); Gurhan multicolor tourmaline necklace, $13,600 (at Neiman Marcus, 310.550.5900, www.neimanmarcus.com); Temple St. Clair sapphire-and-diamond pendant modeled after Ptolemy’s geocentric theory of the universe, $25,000, on an 18-karat gold chain, $3,500 (800.590.7985, www.templestclair.com); Marco Bicego 18-karat gold link necklace, $17,750 (at Saks Fifth Avenue, 212.753.4000, www.saksfifthavenue.com).

Photo by Doyle New York
In its 53 years, Doyle has auctioned the estates of Gloria Swanson, Bette Davis, and other film...
Exceptional colored gemstones were in high demand at the annual fair…
In celebration of Easter, here are some of Robb Report's favorite Fabergé eggs...
The internally flawless type IIa stone is one of the largest and rarest in existence…
The Milanese jeweler celebrated the opening with one-off jewelry pieces inspired by paintings…
The London jeweler uses baguette-cut gemstones to echo the film’s neon-lit buildings…
The store is located inside the Peninsula Hotel in the 16th arrondissement…
Photo by Matthias Hoffmann
The 13-piece collection will be on display in cities around the globe in the coming months…
Photo by Jasper Johal
Jessica McCormack’s Victorian townhouse looks like a tasteful private residence in London’s posh...
The jewelry in the new Louis Vuitton Emprise Collection feature streamlined rectangular shapes that...