Elements of Style: September 2013

<< Back to Robb Report, September 2013

This year’s classic tweed sport coat is a distant cousin of the bulky old favorite popularized by 19th-century aristocrats, who commissioned custom tweed tartans to mark their estates. The new jackets retain the traditional tailored details—flap pockets, buttonhole collars, and soft shoulders—but are constructed with wools woven from finer, plush yarns flecked with color. Some of the best examples include, from left, windowpane plaid by Brooks Brothers ($498), teal herringbone by Phineas Cole ($1,487), and olive check by Ralph Lauren Purple Label ($2,995). Each jacket is supple, lightweight, and bears its own mark of distinction. Brooks Brothers, 800.274.1815, www.brooksbrothers.com; Phineas Cole, 800.678.8278, www.paulstuart.com; Ralph Lauren, 888.475.7674, www.ralphlauren.com

Though the monk-strap shoe has existed for centuries, this time-tested style has recently received a double-buckle retooling. Fall’s wide range of colors and materials includes, from top, Scarpe di Bianco’s amber leather ($950 per pair), Fratelli Rossetti’s distressed finish ($990 per pair), Scarpe di Bianco’s cognac with wingtip detailing ($950 per pair), Fratelli Rossetti’s pebbled green leather ($650 per pair), and John Lobb’s hand-dyed perforated leather ($1,350 per pair). Any model of this adaptable style shows as well with a great pair of jeans as with a wool sport coat and trousers. Scarpe di Bianco, 646.415.8925, www.scarpedibianco.com; Fratelli Rossetti, 212.888.5107, www.fratellirossetti.com; John Lobb, 212.888.9797, www.johnlobb.com

Slim neckties crafted from various fabrics put a personal accent on autumn suiting and also offer a touch of rich texture and pattern. Shown from left are Isaia’s silk-and-wool tie ($225, available at Saks Fifth Avenue), Brooks Brothers’ blue wool oxford tie ($80), Paul Stuart’s olive cashmere tie and wool-and-cashmere zigzag tie ($179 and $140, respectively), Brunello Cucinelli’s cashmere tie ($275), and Ascot Chang’s wool tie ($275). Saks Fifth Avenue, 877.551.7257, www.saksfifthavenue.com; Brooks Brothers, 800.274.1815, www.brooksbrothers.com; Phineas Cole, 800.678.8278, www.paulstuart.com; Brunello Cucinelli, 212.813.0900, www.brunellocucinelli.com; Ascot Chang, 212.759.3333, www.ascotchang.com  

For the new line, the company has teamed up with 130-year-old pewter maker Royal Selangor…
The new line of glasses features design details inspired by traditional typewriters…
Along with clothing, shoes, and accessories, the new store will offer a limited-edition surfboard…
These sunglasses were made famous in the blockbuster movie Terminator 2: Judgment Day…
The new store offers the brand’s complete collection of men’s and women’s fine leather goods...
Photo by Marcus Tondo
Looser, retro-inspired suits from these top fashion houses combine comfort and class…
Photo by Augusto Buzzeo
The collection exemplifies his commitment to traditional Italian craftsmanship...
Photograph by Lisa Charles Watson, styling by Charles W. Bumgardner
Gray was the freshest color on the spring-collection runways in Paris...
Photography by Lisa Charles Watson, styling by Charles W. Bumgardner
The balmy, volcanic shores of Southern Italy have inspired a new men’s fragrance, Bulgari Aqua...
Photograph by Lisa Charles Watson, styling by Charles W. Bumgardner
The tried-and-true boat shoe is proving to be irresistible to designers...