Elements of Style: September 2013

<< Back to Robb Report, September 2013

This year’s classic tweed sport coat is a distant cousin of the bulky old favorite popularized by 19th-century aristocrats, who commissioned custom tweed tartans to mark their estates. The new jackets retain the traditional tailored details—flap pockets, buttonhole collars, and soft shoulders—but are constructed with wools woven from finer, plush yarns flecked with color. Some of the best examples include, from left, windowpane plaid by Brooks Brothers ($498), teal herringbone by Phineas Cole ($1,487), and olive check by Ralph Lauren Purple Label ($2,995). Each jacket is supple, lightweight, and bears its own mark of distinction. Brooks Brothers, 800.274.1815, www.brooksbrothers.com; Phineas Cole, 800.678.8278, www.paulstuart.com; Ralph Lauren, 888.475.7674, www.ralphlauren.com

Though the monk-strap shoe has existed for centuries, this time-tested style has recently received a double-buckle retooling. Fall’s wide range of colors and materials includes, from top, Scarpe di Bianco’s amber leather ($950 per pair), Fratelli Rossetti’s distressed finish ($990 per pair), Scarpe di Bianco’s cognac with wingtip detailing ($950 per pair), Fratelli Rossetti’s pebbled green leather ($650 per pair), and John Lobb’s hand-dyed perforated leather ($1,350 per pair). Any model of this adaptable style shows as well with a great pair of jeans as with a wool sport coat and trousers. Scarpe di Bianco, 646.415.8925, www.scarpedibianco.com; Fratelli Rossetti, 212.888.5107, www.fratellirossetti.com; John Lobb, 212.888.9797, www.johnlobb.com

Slim neckties crafted from various fabrics put a personal accent on autumn suiting and also offer a touch of rich texture and pattern. Shown from left are Isaia’s silk-and-wool tie ($225, available at Saks Fifth Avenue), Brooks Brothers’ blue wool oxford tie ($80), Paul Stuart’s olive cashmere tie and wool-and-cashmere zigzag tie ($179 and $140, respectively), Brunello Cucinelli’s cashmere tie ($275), and Ascot Chang’s wool tie ($275). Saks Fifth Avenue, 877.551.7257, www.saksfifthavenue.com; Brooks Brothers, 800.274.1815, www.brooksbrothers.com; Phineas Cole, 800.678.8278, www.paulstuart.com; Brunello Cucinelli, 212.813.0900, www.brunellocucinelli.com; Ascot Chang, 212.759.3333, www.ascotchang.com  

William Abraham's line of socks offer unparalleled comfort and style...
With summer comes the need for a wardrobe of sunglasses that suits a man’s mood, style, and demands...
Summer styles from designers including Bottega Veneta, Dior, and Ralph Lauren.
From modern takes on classic swimwear to outrageously playful options, here are our top picks...
Crisp white sneakers to sport before Labor Day…
New silhouettes, graphics, and cuts distinguish this season’s shorts…
Ring Jacket offers distinctly Japanese men's clothing designs with elements of European style...
Photo by Dean Isidro
FREE PREVIEW: The Ralph Lauren Purple Label is among Robb Report’s 2015 Best of the Best selections…
Tom Ford, Louis Vuitton, and other top brands have created stylish backpacks ideal for summer...
In honor of the brand's anniversary, only 70 pairs of the sunglasses will be made...