Elements of Style: September 2013

<< Back to Robb Report, September 2013

This year’s classic tweed sport coat is a distant cousin of the bulky old favorite popularized by 19th-century aristocrats, who commissioned custom tweed tartans to mark their estates. The new jackets retain the traditional tailored details—flap pockets, buttonhole collars, and soft shoulders—but are constructed with wools woven from finer, plush yarns flecked with color. Some of the best examples include, from left, windowpane plaid by Brooks Brothers ($498), teal herringbone by Phineas Cole ($1,487), and olive check by Ralph Lauren Purple Label ($2,995). Each jacket is supple, lightweight, and bears its own mark of distinction. Brooks Brothers, 800.274.1815, www.brooksbrothers.com; Phineas Cole, 800.678.8278, www.paulstuart.com; Ralph Lauren, 888.475.7674, www.ralphlauren.com

Though the monk-strap shoe has existed for centuries, this time-tested style has recently received a double-buckle retooling. Fall’s wide range of colors and materials includes, from top, Scarpe di Bianco’s amber leather ($950 per pair), Fratelli Rossetti’s distressed finish ($990 per pair), Scarpe di Bianco’s cognac with wingtip detailing ($950 per pair), Fratelli Rossetti’s pebbled green leather ($650 per pair), and John Lobb’s hand-dyed perforated leather ($1,350 per pair). Any model of this adaptable style shows as well with a great pair of jeans as with a wool sport coat and trousers. Scarpe di Bianco, 646.415.8925, www.scarpedibianco.com; Fratelli Rossetti, 212.888.5107, www.fratellirossetti.com; John Lobb, 212.888.9797, www.johnlobb.com

Slim neckties crafted from various fabrics put a personal accent on autumn suiting and also offer a touch of rich texture and pattern. Shown from left are Isaia’s silk-and-wool tie ($225, available at Saks Fifth Avenue), Brooks Brothers’ blue wool oxford tie ($80), Paul Stuart’s olive cashmere tie and wool-and-cashmere zigzag tie ($179 and $140, respectively), Brunello Cucinelli’s cashmere tie ($275), and Ascot Chang’s wool tie ($275). Saks Fifth Avenue, 877.551.7257, www.saksfifthavenue.com; Brooks Brothers, 800.274.1815, www.brooksbrothers.com; Phineas Cole, 800.678.8278, www.paulstuart.com; Brunello Cucinelli, 212.813.0900, www.brunellocucinelli.com; Ascot Chang, 212.759.3333, www.ascotchang.com  

The latest act from Cutler and Gross recalls the golden age of the circus…
British flora inspires a new collection of stylish swimwear…
The design of the 538-square-foot boutique is inspired by the original Prada store in Milan…
The Italian accessory maker’s newest Gommino shoe is highly customizable…
The designer’s latest scent is a rich blend of spicy and sweet notes…
The NBA all-star Tyson Chandler and his wife collaborate with Selima Optique…
Photo by GSI Commerce
New designs honor the brand’s 1970s roots with vintage flair…
Photo by Breitenbuchervern1.com
The shoemaker and leather tannery join forces to craft two new men’s styles...
For the new line, the company has teamed up with 130-year-old pewter maker Royal Selangor…
The new line of glasses features design details inspired by traditional typewriters…